Marieke Lucas Rijneveld Becomes Youngest Author to Win International Booker Prize

29-year-old Dutch writer Marieke Lucas Rijneveld has become the youngest author ever to win the International Booker Prize. Rijneveld, was on Wednesday announced as the winner for The Discomfort of Evening, a dark story about a devout farming family in a strict Christian community in the rural Netherlands.

Under the rules of the prize, the 50,000-pound ($66,000) award will be split between the author and translator Michele Hutchison, giving both equal recognition. Ted Hodgkinson, who chaired a panel of judges, described the novel as a tender and visceral evocation of a childhood caught between shame and salvation.

The International Booker Prize is awarded every year to a book of fiction in any language that is translated into English and published in the U.K. or Ireland. The award is separate from the main Booker Prize and aims to encourage more publishing and reading of quality fiction from around the world.

For more information check out:

International Booker Prize 2020 Announced

ALSO READ  Check out the 6 shortlisted novels for International Booker Prize 2020 inside

Leave your vote

Upvote Downvote




Ad Blocker Detected!

If you enjoy our content, please support our site by disabling your Adblocker. We depend on Ad Revenue to keep creating quality content for you to enjoy for free.


Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.